October 18-19, 2013 Werewolf Ride and Camp

9 Oct

I’ve been doing a wonderful bike camp trip for a number of years and I’d love to share it with you.  I have a spot at Stephens State Park campgrounds.  Site 35 is nestled in giant pine trees on a small rise.  It gets pretty quiet and dark in my favorite valley.  Lets meet up at Denville clock tower at 7:15 6:45 pm.  Bring Lights and camping equipment.  You may choose to travel light because Hackettstown is about a mile away from camp and makes for easy supply runs.  I drop gear at camp then cruise to Hackettstown for food and refreshments.  Camp has potable water.

From Denville, we can head for a half loop of Lake Hopatcong possibly hit Cranberry Lake and cruise down the Sussex Branch to Waterloo Rd.   The ride can be lengthened or shortened, modified any which way.

I need to leave around 8am Saturday morning, probably using a more direct route home with a bagel stop.

I hope you can join me!

9 Responses to “October 18-19, 2013 Werewolf Ride and Camp”

  1. Tim from Newark October 10, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Great idea. Too bad I’ll be away on business

    • Bill October 11, 2013 at 12:50 am #

      Always wanted to do an overnighter. I’m most likely in.

      • Peter October 15, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

        This is probably going to be the best full moon ride yet. Unfortunatly, I can’t commit yet because I’ve been having some lower back issues for over a month. Sleeping in my own bed is difficult and trading that in for my 1 inch thermarest out in the woods is not an option for me at this point. The nights will be getting cool, so bring a good sleeping bag 🙂 Dogman, I would love for you to post a recap of this ride on the blog . It would be great to hear all about it. Enjoy my fellow wolves. Howwwwwlllllllll!

    • Steve October 16, 2013 at 2:50 am #

      Not sure if Joy is in, but I am planning on going. Most likely I’ll be bringing two more people, Aly and Aaron.

      -Steve

  2. dean October 17, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    I’m really looking forward to this trip! Hope your back feels up to it, Peter. These trips are always best when you’re there.
    If we do the route I linked to, I’m figuring on a pretty late arrival to camp (probably after most stores, restaurants close) so I’ve got a buddy in Hackettstown to procure us some firewood & beer. If you’re not packing food, there is a nearby quick check and a few bars in town with food available late.

  3. joy October 18, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    I’ll be meeting up for the camping part of the trip. Not sure if I have what it takes to keep up with the riding portion today.

    • Bill October 19, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      That was the best ride yet, Thanks Dean and thanks to Joy for carrying some stuff (beer) for us.

      • Bill November 11, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

        The Splitrock ride from Denville would be good for the next one or a 20 mile ride around Lake Hopatcong if you make a left on Brady Rd. and starting at the Netcong train station would be good too.

      • Bill November 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

        I’m meeting at the Denville clock tower tonight at 7:00 pm to do a ride through Ford Rd., up Meriden, over to Splitrock Res., to Denmark Rd. through Rockaway Boro, back to Denville if anyone wants to go.

Leave a Reply

