April 19-20, Werewolf Biker Campout Jamboree

21 Mar

Pack your things!  How about a 5:45pm meet up in Denville and we’ll wind our way toward Mahlon Dickerson Reservation.  I’m guessing its a 15 mile ride.  Camp in an Adirondack shelter, under the stars or in a tent.  I’d like to head home by 8am.  Lets get a head count so I know what to book.  Psyched!

 

Recap:

Another great time was had on the Full Moon camp out jamboree. We made the trip without our fearless lead wolf, who was greatly missed.

It started out on a high note when the owner of the tanning salon noticed my touring bike at the clock tower and asked if I was riding cross country. She was willing to offer me a place to stay. Her son had done the trip and said that people have been so kind to him that she wanted to help out another cyclist. That really made me smile.  There are still good people out there.

We had 5 riders and one car support. Riding weather was perfect. I think the climb up Minisink kept everybody warm. We arrived at camp just after dark. Set up camp and had a fire going in no time. We enjoyed some Polish Kielbasa cooked on the fire. Thanks to another wolf for bringing up 2 wheel barrel loads of wood. We enjoyed the warm while it lasted. It did get chilly at night and a fellow wolf departed early when the fire ran out. When we awoke, we enjoyed some coffee with Prince Polo bars (another Polish treat from the butcher shop), then cleaned up camp and had another perfect day for cycling back home. One wolf noticed that his tent fell off his bike and started to return to look for it. I’ve never seen him cycle so fast. We didn’t go far. A guy in a truck was stopped and asked if we were missing something, and then handed over the tent. There are those good people again.

All in all, it was a great overnighter. I’m sure we will be doing another on in the warmer weather.

Keeping it rubberside down. The Birdman.

 

15 Responses to “April 19-20, Werewolf Biker Campout Jamboree”

  1. Joy March 21, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

    i’m in… even if it’s just car support 🙂

    • Joy March 21, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

      And I’ll make sure I have a working bike this time :/

  2. Daniel Cohen March 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

    Count me in!

  3. Peter March 23, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    I’m in! Howlllllllll!

  4. Higgins March 24, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

    Count me in!

  5. Bill March 25, 2014 at 12:08 am #

    Me too

  6. Peter March 26, 2014 at 12:28 am #

    If any wolves need to borrow any camping gear, let me know. I do have an extra tent, sleeping bags, stoves, lanterns etc. Just reply to this post.

  7. Dean April 10, 2014 at 10:08 pm #

    2 shelters are booked. There is room for tenting. There may not be potable water, but staff is hoping it will be turnd on next week, i will check on this. Hope for good weather! It would be nice to ride in the sunshine! All kinds of route options! Which way? Woohoo howl!!!

    • brian April 14, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

      Should I book my own shelter, or do I give you my share in cash?

      • Dean April 15, 2014 at 1:48 am #

        Shelters sleep 4 with some room to spare. I expect there will be some people tenting or under the stars so there should be room. These shelters are primitive lean tos, nothing fancy. There are some picnic tables and nice big fire rings.

      • Dean April 15, 2014 at 1:59 am #

        The rent is very thrifty. About 37 total

      • Bill April 18, 2014 at 2:47 am #

        I’ll bring firewoodSturday morning. I’ll need to know which site we are in.

      • dean April 19, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

        3&4. you da man!

  8. dean April 19, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

    The water point at the camping area is still off. You can get water at the restrooms in the RV area. There is a spigot between the sinks in the men’s room.

  9. brian April 19, 2014 at 5:56 pm #

    Sorry but I have to bail. Just getting over that flu that’s been going around. Camping in the cold won’t help that situation. Really bummed.

Leave a Reply

